Price beats Van Dugenbaud to win the Jack Darts World Championships final

Jeroen Price tasted glory for the second time in three years by winning the final of the Jack Darts World Championships on Sunday night, decimating Dutchman Dirk van Duijvenbode 11-10 in a thrilling final.

Price previously won the season finale in 2020, underpinning the success of the TAB New Zealand Darts Masters last month by taking home the £70,000 World Series of Darts Finals.

He was pushed all the way by home favorite Van Duijvenbode in a captivating final, and took the title with 14 arrows in a thrilling finish.

A high-quality start saw the pair trade 14 quarters in the opening four legs before price broke out for a 3-2 advance, then pinned the tops to open a two-legged cushion.

Van Duijvenbode saw him with three straight legs lead again at 5-4, and added 12 darter while still holding the edge.

Price beat 146, 121 and 116 as he slipped from 7 to 6 to lead 9-8 – as he crossed an 18-time foul from Van Duijvenbaud in Round 17.

The Dutchman – who scored 112 in the 15th return leg – responded brilliantly with 11 bets and fired into a double quad to take a 10-9 lead, putting himself on the brink of a first title on a big stage.

Price showed his class with 12 bets to take the final to a decisive leg, and after being the first to reach the finish during a tense finale, he knocked out the Welshman 90 to claim glory.

“I’m thrilled to cross the line,” said Price, who finished the final with an average of 100.14. “Dirk played really well but I think I played a little bit better.

“It was a great match but I made it really difficult for myself. There were two or three legs where I missed doubles, and in five times in the second half I was probably 7-3 up.

“I knew from there it was going to be a tough fight; Dirk was playing well and obviously the fans were supporting him but I was working there to the end.

“I gave myself a chance in the first leg and I crossed the line.”

he added: “I’m more than experienced with this kind of crowd, fair play for them – they were all cheering their man but I think they were very respectful in the spots.

“I’ve let him off the hook a few times but I just wanted to give myself a chance in the last game – I have a bit more composure and experience than Dirk had on that leg and that’s all that matters.”

Price earlier followed up Saturday’s narrow win over Matt Campbell with a 10-8 quarter-final victory over Joe Cullen, before beating James Wade 11-9 in the semi-finals.

Wade had regressed from a 2-0 semi-final deficit to advance 6-5 after landing in 170 knockouts between three and 12 quarters, only for Price to lift five straight legs en route to victory.

Van Duijvenbaud’s arrival in the third televised final makes him qualify for November at the Cazoo Grand Slam of Darts.

The Dutch Darts Masters runner-up in June had battled Hubai Buha and Gary Anderson to reach the final day of excitement, before surviving a missed match throw from Ryan Joyce in the penultimate second leg of the quarter-finals.

He then finished Johnny Clayton’s title defense with a superb success in the semi-finals 11-8, but lost narrowly to Price.

Van Duijvenbode’s loss was a repeat of the 2020 World Grand Prix final, and provided more experience in the big game in his bid to claim major honors.

“I was a bit unfortunate at the last stop and showed his class,” said Van Duijvenbode, who took home £30,000 as runner-up.

“It’s a little disappointing because apart from that class, I could have won it in the end if I had ridden myself better.”

Clayton had earlier won six of his last seven matches to defeat four-time champion Michael Van Gerwin 10-7 in the quarter-finals.

Wade was the other quarterfinal winner on Sunday afternoon, finishing ten doubles from 18 attempts in a 10-5 clinical win over Christmas boy Michael Smith.

Click here to see match stats

JAC World Darts Championship 2022 Finals
Sunday 18 September, Avas Live, Amsterdam
afternoon session

Jeroen Price 10-8 Joe Collin
Dirk van Duijvenbaud 10-9 Ryan Joyce
James Wade 10-5 Michael Smith
Johnny Clayton 10-7 Michael Van Gerwin

evening session
semi final

Jeroen Price 11-9 James Wade
Dirk van Duijvenpod 11-8 Johnny Clayton

Gerwyn Price 11-10 Dirk van Duijvenbode

fbq(‘init’, ‘1865892723648791’); // Insert your pixel ID here.
fbq(‘track’, ‘PageView’);